To Eat Or Not To Eat?(Wiggle room part 1)

  I remember my freshman year in college and how I wanted so terribly to follow God. I desired everything I pursued or engaged in to glorify God; God centered, God ordained. I vividly recall sitting on our royal blue couch in my small apartment (yes, deep royal blue; it was the 90’s) eating a bowl of cereal between classes. Nearly half way through the bowl of cereal I started to get full. Full? I had only eaten a half bowl of Frosted Flakes and Tony was right, “They were great!” 

I wanted desperately to finish the last bit of the crispy, crunchy, Frosted Flakes and get to the sugary bottom, but I was getting full. I had a dilemma; I was in a moral jam. If I finished the bowl of cereal, stuffed myself and ate too much, I would commit the sin of gluttony. On the other hand, if I poured the half of uneaten cereal down the drain, then I was wasteful which also constituted a sin.

So, was I to continue eating and risk gluttony or was I to discard the cereal down the garbage disposal and risk being wasteful. OMG! What was I to do? All I wanted was to please God, to make Him happy. Yet, here I was in a dilemma between two vices: gluttony and wastefulness. How I wish I could console that confused freshman lost in the deep velvety sea of royal blue upholstery that God had given him some wiggle room.   

4 thoughts on “To Eat Or Not To Eat?(Wiggle room part 1)

    1. The second part to this post will be posted in the morning, come back to find out!

      Your page is awesome. I think I’m going to have to follow.😁

      Like

Leave a comment